Bob Metcalfe receives Turing Award for work inventing Ethernet



The 2022 ACM A.M. Turing Award also known as the “Nobel Prize in Computing,” went to Robert (Bob) Melancton Metcalfe for the invention, standardization, and commercialization of Ethernet.

Ethernet was first invented in 1973 and it ran at 2.94 megabits per second, about 10,000 occasions sooner than the terminal networks it might substitute. Whereas he was working on the Xerox Palo Alto Analysis Heart (PARC), Matcalfe circulated a memo that described a “broadcast communication community” to attach a number of the first computer systems inside a constructing.

Whereas the primary design proposed the community over a coaxial cable, this could get replaced with “communication over an ether,” which made the design adaptable to future improvements in media know-how to interchange the coaxial cable because the “ether.”

Metcalfe drew upon his data of ALOHAnet, a pioneering laptop networking system created on the College of Hawaii, within the design of the Ethernet. He then recruited David Boggs, a co-inventor of Ethernet, to assist construct a 100-node PARC Ethernet.

After leaving Xerox in 1979, Metcalfe remained the chief evangelist for Ethernet and continued to information its improvement whereas working to make sure business adoption of an open normal.

Metcalfe is an Emeritus Professor of Electrical and Pc Engineering (ECE) at The College of Texas at Austin and a Analysis Affiliate in Computational Engineering on the Massachusetts Institute of Know-how (MIT) Pc Science & Synthetic Intelligence Laboratory (CSAIL).

The winner of the 2021 ACM A.M. Turing Award was John Dongarra of the College of Tennessee and Oak Ridge Nationwide Laboratory for pioneering contributions to numerical algorithms and libraries that enabled high-performance computational software program to maintain tempo with exponential {hardware} enhancements for over 4 a long time.

The 2020 award went to Alred Vaino Aho and Jeffrey David Ullman for his or her work on elementary algorithms and concept and the 2019 award went to Pixar pioneers Edwin E. Catmull and Patrick M. Hanrahan for advancing laptop graphic design. 

The award carries a $1 million prize with monetary assist supplied by Google and is called after Alan M. Turing, the British mathematician who articulated the mathematical foundations of computing.

Further particulars can be found right here.